Children of the Folded Valley – Excerpt 1

Posted: July 7, 2014 in Uncategorized

“We spend our adult lives trying to regain what we lost in childhood.” This quote is so true by Simon Dillon.
-Steven D. Jackson

SDJBooks.com

Simon Dillon Books

Folded Valley cover

Here is the first of two excerpts from my upcoming novel, Children of the Folded Valley:

From Chapter 1:

“We spend our adult lives trying to regain what we lost in childhood.

I do not claim to be unique in that respect. Whilst it might be argued that I lost more than some, we all, I think, chase after what we once had or never had. What we lost cannot be replaced, but we chase after it nonetheless.

Some think of what they lost with romantic rose tinted spectacles, whilst others are more pragmatic. Some deny it, others get angry about it, others still accept it and seek help from friends, family, lovers, therapists, priests, gurus or anyone else who will listen. But I cannot do that. I can never tell my friends, my colleagues, my wife or my children what happened to me in the Folded Valley.

People…

View original post 336 more words

Leave a Reply

